Restaurant POS comparison 2026: Toast, Square, Clover
A buying framework, not affiliate content: hardware lock-in, processor flexibility, contracts, and the 12 questions every POS vendor should answer.
Buying restaurant software in 2026 is harder than it was five years ago, not easier. The category exploded — Toast went public, Square doubled down on hospitality, Clover keeps reinventing itself, and a wave of WhatsApp-native and AI-native systems (FoodyOS among them) showed up with very different assumptions. Most comparison guides on the internet are affiliate content. This one isn’t. It’s a buying framework so you can run a real evaluation on any vendor without getting cornered by a sales rep. If you’re evaluating the broader operations stack — not just the POS — start with the restaurant management system buying guide.
How we keep this comparison honest
Every concrete dollar figure below is taken directly from the vendor’s own published pricing page on the date noted, not from affiliate articles or sales-rep emails. Every vendor page in this guide was re-fetched in August 2026, with one admitted exception: Clover serves its restaurant pricing from a script-rendered page we could not retrieve, so its figure keeps the date of the last pass that did retrieve it instead of being relabelled as current. Where a vendor publishes a starting price but gates the rest behind a quote, we say so explicitly — “not disclosed publicly” — instead of guessing, and we do not add up modules the vendor never priced. We don’t take affiliate commissions from any of the vendors in this guide, including FoodyOS’s competitors. If a vendor changes a number after this post is published, we update the body and the “as of” date stamp rather than letting the figure drift. The full list of sources sits at the bottom of this article so you can verify every claim in under five minutes. Three more ground rules: we cite the vendor’s own pricing URL rather than third-party round-ups, because round-ups go stale faster than the underlying pages; we record the exact tier name as the vendor uses it (Toast’s “Point of Sale,” Square’s “Plus,” Lightspeed’s “Essential”) so you can request the same SKU on a sales call without translation errors; and we cross-check every legacy-vendor figure against an industry trade publication — Restaurant Business Online’s technology desk is the cross-reference of record at the bottom of this guide.
The four levers that actually matter
Forget feature checklists for a second. Every POS decision comes down to four levers, and most operators ignore at least two of them until it’s too late:
- Hardware lock-in.Does the software run on off-the-shelf iPads / Android tablets, or on proprietary terminals you can only buy from the vendor? Lock-in usually means a $1,000+ device that’s a doorstop the day you switch.
- Payment processor flexibility. Are you forced to use their processor, or can you bring your own and negotiate rates? On $1M in card volume, a 0.3% rate difference is $3,000 a year.
- Online ordering economics. Per-order commission, flat monthly fee, or hybrid? On $20K/month online, 2% vs 5% is $7,200/year.
- Contract length. Month-to-month, 12 months, or 36+ months? Long contracts protect bad vendors from competition.
How the major US vendors stack up
Numbers below come from publicly disclosed pricing as of August 2026 (Clover excepted, as noted in its section) or are explicitly flagged as not published. Most of these vendors do not publish a price for the full set a restaurant actually runs — POS plus kitchen display plus online ordering — so where the published figure is a POS-only floor, we label it a floor rather than presenting it as a bundle. Always verify with the vendor before signing — and ask for the specific clause number in the contract, not a verbal assurance.
Toast
Full side-by-side: FoodyOS vs Toast. Weighing the whole field rather than one head-to-head? Start with the sourced Toast alternatives roundup.
- Hardware: Toast sells its own terminals, KDS displays and handhelds, and the ecosystem is built around them — the usual lock-in warning applies. Note that the published POS price below is a bring-your-own-hardware figure; Toast hardware is quoted separately and no price for it appears on the pricing page.
- Software fee: A $0/month starter tier on a payment-only revenue model, and exactly one published paid price: Point Of Sale — "Starting at $69 /month" (POS only; bring your own hardware), as of August 2026 per pos.toasttab.com/pricing. POS only. Toast publishes no price for online ordering or kitchen display — both are add-ons quoted on request, so a comparable bundle costs more than this floor.
- Payment processor: Toast Payments only, and Toast publishes nocard rate anywhere on that pricing page — not card-present, not card-not-present. Any specific “Toast rate” you see quoted online comes from a third party, not from Toast. Get yours in writing before you sign.
- Online ordering: Toast markets an online-ordering module, but the pricing page flags it as an add-on with additional fees on every tier and attaches no figure to it. Delivery services and marketplace integrations carry further per-order fees that are also unpublished.
- Contract:Not published. Toast’s pricing page states no term length and no early-termination policy; both live in the master services agreement. Ask for the clause before you sign.
- KDS included: No — a separate product, and Toast publishes no price for it.
- WhatsApp / AI ordering: Not natively. Third-party integrations only.
Square for Restaurants
Full side-by-side: FoodyOS vs Square, or browse the wider Square alternatives roundup.
- Hardware: Square Register, iPad-based terminals, plus Square-branded printers and KDS displays. More flexibility than Toast — the software also runs on hardware you already own, and Square devices are bought outright rather than bundled into the software plan.
- Software fee: Square Free is $0/month per location; Square Plus is $49/month per location and Square Premium $149/month per location. The Square KDS app is billed separately at $30/device/month on Plus and $20 on Premium, and is not available on Free (as of August 2026 per squareup.com/us/en/restaurants and squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing). That makes $79/month the cheapest published Square setup covering POS, kitchen display and online ordering together — Square Plus "$49/mo. per location" + Square KDS app "$30/mo. per device" (one device); online ordering included at $0 — and the cheapest like-for-like figure published by any vendor in this comparison, FoodyOS included.
- Payment processor: Square Payments only. In-person card rates are tier-dependent: 2.6% + 15¢ on Free, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus, 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium; online is 3.3% + 30¢ on Free and 2.9% + 30¢ on Plus and Premium (per squareup.com/us/en/payments/our-fees, as of August 2026).
- Online ordering: Free Square Online site; ordering works at standard processing rate. No commission on direct orders.
- Contract: Month-to-month available — one of the better options here, and the easiest exit ramp of the four legacy vendors.
- KDS included: Add-on, sold separately.
- WhatsApp / AI ordering: Not natively.
Clover
- Hardware: Proprietary Clover devices (Station, Mini, Flex). Strong lock-in — devices are tied to a specific merchant services account and are not portable to other processors.
- Software fee:Read this one with a warning label. The last figure we retrieved from Clover’s own restaurant pricing page was Restaurant Growth — Starter, $179/mo on a 36-month term, on 6 August 2026. Clover publishes its pricing only through a script-rendered page we could not retrieve on our last pass. This figure is from 6 August 2026 and has not been re-confirmed since — check Clover's own page before relying on it. Check www.clover.com/pricing/restaurant yourself before you use it for anything. Reseller pricing varies on top of that, so cross-check any quote against Clover’s own published list.
- Payment processor: Clover/Fiserv-affiliated processors, but Clover devices can be sold by various merchant services partners, which means rate flexibility — and complexity.
- Online ordering: Built-in via Clover Online; per-order fees apply on third-party integrations.
- Contract: Varies by reseller, and the plan quoted above was published on a 36-month term. The reseller — not Clover itself — sets the early-termination fee.
- KDS included: Add-on app.
- WhatsApp / AI ordering: Not natively.
Lightspeed Restaurant
- Hardware: iPad-based; works with off-the-shelf tablets plus Lightspeed-branded printers and cash drawers.
- Software fee: Three tiers per location — Starter at $69/month, Essential at $189/month, and a Premium tier above it — plus $30/screen/month for the Kitchen Display System. The trap is the Starter tier: it does not include online ordering. The cheapest published Lightspeed configuration that covers what a restaurant actually runs is $219/month — Essential $189/mo (cheapest tier including online ordering) + Kitchen Display System "$30/screen per month" (as of August 2026 per www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing). Quoting the Starter sticker against that module set understates Lightspeed by well over $100 a month.
- Payment processor: Lightspeed Payments preferred; Lightspeed publishes no card rate on its pricing page, so get the rate — and any surcharge for bringing your own processor — quoted in writing.
- Online ordering: Included from Essential up, not on Starter; delivery integrations carry separate fees.
- Contract:Not published. Lightspeed’s pricing page states no term length and no month-to-month price, so treat term and exit as things you negotiate, in writing.
- WhatsApp / AI ordering: Not natively.
TouchBistro
- Hardware: iPad-based POS, and hardware is required. TouchBistro publishes no hardware price on its pricing page, so that line of the quote is a sales-call number.
- Software fee: The published POS price is Point of Sale — "starting at $69 /month" (POS only; hardware required), as of August 2026 per www.touchbistro.com/pricing. POS only, and hardware is required. TouchBistro publishes no price for its Kitchen Display System or Online Ordering — both are quote-only — so a comparable bundle costs more than this floor.
- Payment processor: Integrated payments; specific rates are not disclosed publicly and require a quote.
- Online ordering: Add-on module with no published price; reservations, loyalty, and gift cards are also quote-only.
- Contract:Not published. TouchBistro’s pricing page states no term length and no cancellation policy — ask for both, in writing, before signing.
- WhatsApp / AI ordering: Not natively.
FoodyOS
- Hardware: Runs on standard iPads, Android tablets, and any browser. No proprietary devices.
- Software fee: A flat $149/month per restaurant, every module included — POS, KDS, ordering site, delivery dispatch, hostess, loyalty, inventory. One published plan on the pricing page, not gated behind a sales call.
- Payment processor:Stripe, on your own Stripe account. Card checkout is live on the storefront — customers pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, and payouts settle from Stripe straight to your bank. FoodyOS never sits in the money flow and adds no markup: you pay Stripe’s own published US rates, 2.9% + 30¢ online and 2.7% + 5¢ in person via Stripe Terminal (as of August 2026 per stripe.com/pricing).
- Online ordering: Included. No commission on direct orders.
- Contract: Month-to-month.
- KDS included: Yes, software-only. Runs on any tablet you already own.
- WhatsApp / AI ordering: Native, with the AI carrying the conversation end-to-end.
The 12 questions to ask every vendor
- What’s the total monthly cost for my exact location count?
- Is the contract month-to-month or multi-year?
- Can I bring my own payment processor, or am I locked in?
- What’s the all-in card processing rate, in writing?
- Does the hardware work if I cancel, or is it a doorstop?
- What’s the per-order fee on direct online orders?
- Is the KDS included or sold separately, and on what hardware?
- Do you have native WhatsApp / SMS ordering, or only third-party integrations?
- What happens to my menu and customer data if I cancel?
- How long does new-location onboarding take, end to end?
- What’s the SLA on support? Live chat, phone, response time?
- Show me a real customer running 5+ locations on you. Reference call this week?
If a vendor dodges any of those, that’s your answer. The good ones answer all twelve in a 30-minute call. Run that test on us— we’ll go through them on a screen-share, no slides. Pricing’s on the pricing page if you want the number before the call, and the FAQ covers contract length, hardware, and Stripe in plain English.
Total cost of ownership: the math nobody runs
Sticker price is a trap. The number that actually matters is the all-in monthly cost across software, hardware amortization, payment processing, and add-on modules — for the next three years, not just month one. A typical single-location quick-service restaurant doing $80,000/month in card volume will spend more on processing (2.6%–3.0% blended) than on software under all but the most expensive published software tiers. That means the software-fee delta between “cheap” and “expensive” plans is dwarfed by a 0.2% swing in your processing rate. When you sit down with a sales rep, ask them to model your actual volume, amortize the hardware over 36 months, and add the per-screen KDS fees, the online-ordering tier, and any loyalty or marketing module you actually need. The single-page summary the rep walks in with is almost always missing two of those four columns.
Pay particular attention to processing-rate floors. Several legacy vendors advertise “custom rates” for higher volume, but that floor is set inside a private merchant services agreement — there is no published number to hold them to, which is exactly what makes it a bad thing to negotiate against. Negotiate against a published one instead: Square’s in-person card rate is 2.6% + 15¢ on the free tier, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus and 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium (as published, August 2026) — fixed, contractually binding, and available without a sales escalation.
Switching cost is the silent killer
The reason operators stay on bad POS contracts isn’t loyalty — it’s data exit cost. Toast, Clover, and Lightspeed all let you export menu and customer CSVs, but loyalty point balances, gift card liabilities, recurring online-ordering customer accounts, and third-party integration mappings (DoorDash, Uber Eats, accounting) rarely come along cleanly. Budget two weeks of a manager’s time and one weekend of double-entry to switch any of the legacy platforms. FoodyOS’s import path is built around CSV + WhatsApp contact-list ingestion, which sidesteps the loyalty-balance migration entirely because the loyalty model is conversation-driven, not points-driven. That’s a deliberate architectural choice, not a feature gap.
One last thing operators forget: renewal-clock auto-rollover. Multi-year POS contracts almost always include a 30- or 60-day notice window before each renewal anniversary. Miss it, and you sign up for another full term at the original rate. Put a calendar reminder 90 days before each anniversary, and renegotiate annually whether or not you’re planning to switch — the leverage is free.
Sources
- Toast — Pricing. pos.toasttab.com/pricing (verified August 2026; one published paid POS price, no published card rate, no published price for online ordering or kitchen display).
- Square for Restaurants — Plans & pricing. squareup.com/us/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing and squareup.com/us/en/restaurants (verified August 2026; card rates per squareup.com/us/en/payments/our-fees).
- Clover — Restaurant pricing. www.clover.com/pricing/restaurant (last successfully retrieved 6 August 2026; script-rendered page, not re-confirmed on our August 2026 pass — the only figure in this guide we cannot currently stand behind).
- Lightspeed Restaurant — Pricing. www.lightspeedhq.com/pos/restaurant/pricing (verified August 2026).
- TouchBistro — Pricing. www.touchbistro.com/pricing (verified August 2026).
- Stripe — Pricing (US). stripe.com/pricing (verified August 2026; 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 5¢ in person via Stripe Terminal — the rates FoodyOS storefront checkout runs on, charged to the restaurant’s own Stripe account).
- Restaurant Business Online — Technology coverage, including “Shake Shack unveils tech strategy to support its ambitious growth” (April 2026), illustrating the industry shift toward cloud-native POS + KDS platforms.
